What’s this all about anyway?

So now that you’ve read my first blog post and why I’ve been relegated to a blog, let me tell you a little about what I’m thinking you’ll see here.

My plan at this moment, unemployment insurance notwithstanding, is to write a lot of the same kind of thing I’ve written, and hopefully you’ve read, during my time at The Star. That means:

  • Columns about national sports,
  • One-liners I’ve written under the heading The Week Just Past,
  • A return to writing about sports TV and radio, something I haven’t been able to do since last summer.
Jim interview
I’ve mostly covered high school sports the past few years. I won’t be doing that here, but I will be expanding what I write about in other ways. This photo was taken after a CIF soccer championship game a couple of years ago.

However, I also plan to write about things other than sports. No, don’t worry. I’m not going to be the latest political pundit (at least, I don’t think so). But I have often wanted to offer my take on things other than sports. So I will write columns on the day-to-day things of life. Again, don’t worry! It’s doubtful that I’ll do this for any other reason other than to try to be funny.

I also plan to write about my faith. Many of you who have read my columns for years may have guessed that I’m a Christian (if you haven’t guessed that, you may not have been paying attention). I’d like to write every once in a while about the things Jesus Christ teaches me and how it has applied in my life. Once again, don’t worry. You’ll see some of this, but I won’t saturate you with it. Much anyway.

If you’re wondering about the title of the blog, “Designated for Assignment,” it’s a baseball term used when a player is placed on waivers for the purpose of outrighting him to the minor leagues. A player who is outrighted to the minors is removed from the 40-man roster, but is still paid according to the terms of his guaranteed contract.

I can tell you right away that I didn’t have a guaranteed contract, but the term “designated for assignment” feels a lot like what I’m going through right now. God has designated me for assignment. Does that mean I’m heading to the minors? I don’t have the slightest notion. But I do know He has something planned for me. I just need to trust Him and take Him at His word.

So I hope you’ll bear with me during all this upheaval. It’s a trying time and I hope you understand that. I also hope you’ll follow along and subscribe (or whatever it is you do with blogs) and tell your friends to do so too. Thanks!

7 thoughts on “What’s this all about anyway?

  1. write on Jim. think of Designated For….as an opportunity to write your views and perspectives without constraint of editorial staff and the freedom of the Holy Spirit. Holy Spirit Sports might be another acronym. Having been through this I think you will find this very rewarding.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

