‘What do I have that I cannot lose?’

So here’s what I’ve been reading this week: A very appropriate book by Max Lucado called You’ll Get Through This: Hope and Help for Your Turbulent Times. I’m sure you’ll see how it spoke to me. Maybe it’ll speak to you too:


“God’s gifts and God’s call are under full warranty — never canceled, never rescinded” (Rom. 11: 29 MSG). Hear and heed yours.

Here’s how it works. Your company is laying off employees. Your boss finally calls you into his office. As kind as he tries to be, a layoff is a layoff. All of a sudden you are cleaning out your desk. Voices of doubt and fear raise their volume. How will I pay the bills? Who is going to hire me? Dread dominates your thoughts. But then you remember your destiny: What do I have that I cannot lose?

Wait a second. I am still God’s child. My life is more than this life. These days are a vapor, a passing breeze. This will eventually pass. God will make something good out of this. I will work hard, stay faithful, and trust him no matter what.

Bingo. You just trusted your destiny.

Leave a Reply

